Crepes for dinner anyone?

August 4, 2011

Top of the morning to you!  It’s Jayme here and I have a delicious recipe to share from dinner last night.  You’re probably thinking it’s some type of brinner recipe, but hold on!  This recipe calls for fresh summer vegetables and lots of melted cheeeese and fresh herbs.  Let me start by saying I have an extreme fondness for crepes.  Growing up, there was a fantastic brunch spot in my hometown that served complimentary crepes as an APPETIZER.  Everyone at the table would get one and it was filled with delicious preserves and sprinkled with powdered sugar. You could actually peer into the kitchen and see this dedicated crepe making lady whipping up piles of crepes.  Sometimes, I would then proceed to order the crepes for breakfast because they were that good.  Inspired by these, my best friend and I used to make homemade crepes for breakfast, pretty much on the daily.  We would pretend we had a cooking show and I suppose we told them the same recipe every day! Creative, huh?  Well, I don’t have that crepe recipe on hand, but I tweaked this one from Eating Well.

Summer Vegetable Crepes – Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh chives, divided
  • 3 tablespoons low-fat milk (I used Almond Milk)
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil (I omitted the olive oil)
  • 2 cups chopped zucchini (I did 1 cup zucchini, 1 cup summer squash)
  • 1 1/4 cups chopped green beans
  • 1 cup fresh corn kernels (I used frozen as it’s all I had)
  • 1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese (I used a mixture of Jack & Mozzarella)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 4 9-inch “ready-to-use” crêpes (I made homemade crepes…see below)

Whole-Wheat Crepes

Slightly adapted from Eating Well

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup Almond Milk
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 1/2 cup club soda
  • 1/4 cup chopped basil

*Makes 12 small crepes

I started by prepping the crepe batter.   In a food processor, add whole-wheat flour, salt, eggs, milk and oil.  Process until mixture is smooth.  Pour mixture into a bowl and refrigerate for 30 minutes. 

While my crepe batter refrigerated, I chopped up my zucchini, squash and green beans (meanwhile corn was dethawing from freezer).  Next, you will want to prepare the sauce for the crepes.  In a small bowl, combine sour cream, 1/4 cup chives, almond milk, lemon juice, and salt.  Mix and place in the refrigerator until plating time.  I then added all of my veggies to a large skillet lightly coated with canola spray.  Sautee the veggies for 8 minutes, stirring occassionally. 

 

While my veggies cooked up, I removed my crepe batter from the fridge and slowly whisked in the club soda.  Using a small skillet lightly misted with non-stick spray, heat the pan over medium to high heat.  Pour about two tablespoons of batter into the pan and move around quickly to coat the bottom.  Cook for 30 seconds on each side.  The crepes are so easy to make and don’t take long at all. 

At the end of 8 minutes, it was back to my veggies. I reduced the heat to a simmer and added in the ricotta and mozzarella/jack cheese, 1/4 cup chives, and S&P.  And that’s it! 

 

I started with one crepe and added about 1/2 cup of the veggetable cheese mixture along the center of the crepe.   Roll up and add a couple of dollups of the sour cream sauce over the top.  I served with a simple side salad with spinach, mixed greens, mushrooms, strawberries and cherry tomatoes with balsamic vinagiarette. 

 

I ended up going back for one more crepe!  They were so creamy, melt-in-your-mouth delicious.  I think the basil in the crepes really added that extra flavor.  Please try this soon!!!

xoxo

Jayme

One Response to “Crepes for dinner anyone?”

  1. Wesley Says:

    These sound good. I may have to try them one day.


Leave a Reply

