Cake Balls trump Gym

August 5, 2011

Last night was spent in the kitchen making red velvet cake balls! I was planning to go to my bootcamp class, but I also promised my coworker I would bring in cake balls.  After a prolonged mental debate (again we are not stellar decision makers), baking just sounded better!  Plus, I failed to mention my coworker is preggers, so I had to pull through and satisfy that craving!

I made cake balls last year for my boyfriend on our anniversary.  If you have not jumped on this bandwagon yet, it’s time!  They are sinister!  Red velvet cake mixed with cream cheese coated in a thick layer of chocolate.  The downside to cake balls is they take all night, literally, but the results are worth it!

I started by gathering all of my ingredients.  You will need 1 Red velvet cake mix (or your flavor of choice), 1 can of cream cheese frosting (or your flavor of choice), eggs, vegetable oil, candy melts or chocolate bark (I used candy melts from Michaels and dipping chocolate from Target),  and any toppings of your choice (I went with dark chocolate).

Next, bake the cake according to the directions on the box.  You will need to let the cake cool completely so I decided to cook dinner while the cake cooled.  On the menu was Iowa Girl’s Apricot Glazed Turkey Burgers Stuffed with Goat Cheese .  I had all of the ingredients on hand and I love apricot preserves so it was a no brainer.  The goat cheese paired with apricot is an unbelievable combo.  I served the turkey burger sans bread with a side of steamed broccoli (I had to leave room for cake balls :). 

Now the fun part!  Once your cake is cooled, you can dump your can of frosting over the top of the cake and mix the cake and frosting together with your hands.  I had two baking sheets staged with wax paper so I could easily assemble my balls.  Form small balls of the cake/frosting mix using your hands and place on the wax paper (my cake yielded about 50).  Place in the freezer for about 20 minutes.

Take your candy melts or bark and place in microwave safe bowl.  Heat in 30 second intervals until chocolate is melted.  Next, insert a toothpick into the cake ball and dip into the chocolate coating the entire ball and tappin off any excess.  Place the ball back onto the wax paper to dry.  Repeat this for all of the balls.  I did a mixture of milk chocolate and white chocolate.  Before the chocolate hardened, I shaved some of dark chocolate over the balls.  

I stored the cake balls in the refrigerator overnight.  These are delicious enjoyed cold or at room temperature.  I told the boyfriend he could only have 3 because I was a bit worried I may wake up and half would be gone!

Red Velvet Cake Balls = Dreamy!

   

Happy Friday!!

Jayme

 

Leave a Reply

