Sunday Brunch

October 17, 2011

Hope you all are enjoying your weekend!  Sundays are the best aren’t they?  I don’t feel guilty sipping coffee until 1pm in my pajamas.  I tried two new recipes this morning for brunch and they both are repeat worthy! Love that!

The main dish was an egg casserole that I adapted from this recipe from Iowa Girl Eats.  Sadly, I do not have an oven safe skillet so I decided to just bake it in a casserole dish.  I followed her recipe and used sourdough bread for the toast.  I combined the steam veggies and put them in the dish first.  Then I mixed the eggs with the cheese and bread and poured it over the top of the veggies.  I put it in a preheated oven at 350 for approximately 20 minutes.  Trevor and I really enjoyed this egg dish.  It was the perfect balance of bread, egg and veggies.  We topped it with salsa and hot sauce.  There was only was small piece left!

We also enjoyed pumpkin bread with our egg casserole.  I was on Pinterest late last night and came across this recipe for pumpkin muffins from Jillian Michaels.  I wanted to make Pumpkin Bread and honestly the butter scared me off a little bit so I took a chance and tweaked the recipe to this:

Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  •  2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 ripe mashed banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup pumpkin

Preparation

In medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice; set aside.

Whisk mashed banana, applesauce, honey, egg and pumpkin. Gradually add flour mixture, mixing until just blended.

Spoon into greased loaf pan. Bake at 350°F for 40 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove muffins from pan to wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

I”m so excited these tweaks worked because this is so healthy!  The bread is super moist and not too sweet which I like.  I think I will add raisins next time.  We topped it with Trader Joe’s Fig Butter.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!  Crock Pot Pork Carnitas are on the menu tonight and the house is smelling heavenly!

Leave a Reply

