Warm Your Tummy with Chicken Enchiladas

September 27, 2012

My mom makes delicious, loaded enchiladas. With the red sauce, black olives, creamy sour cream, and extra cheesy. I will have to make those soon. But last night I tried a different variation, from this blog.

These enchiladas are filled with chicken, black beans and cheese. Then topped with a Poblano sauce and more cheese. The poblano sauce does take some time, but trust me, it’s well worth it.  They aren’t as heavy as your traditional enchilada, however they still are packed with flavor.  If you enjoy Mexican food and a little heat, I highly recommend trying these.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is what I did:

I followed the directions for her Poblano Pepper Sauce and then instead of the pumpkin/black bean filling, I used chicken breast, black beans and cheese. My sauce was HOT at first because a few seeds snuck in, so I added about a tablespoon of vinegar which helped.

For the enchilada filling, you just need 2 chicken breasts.  Cook them over the stove with a little olive oil.  Once cooked, shred with two forks and mix with two cans of black beans (drained and rinsed) and 1/3 cup queso fresco or  shredded mexican cheese.  Then top with sauce and another 1/3 cup of cheese.

Cover with foil and cook at 400 for 30 minutes.  You can make these in advance and store them in the fridge until you are ready to cook them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Make your belly happy with these delicious enchiladas!

 

Leave a Reply

