Shirred Eggs with Hash Browns and White Cheddar Cheese

January 19, 2013

Are you wondering what Shirred Eggs are?

I did too when I saw them on a menu at this restaurant in Corvallis, Oregon. Well I learned Shirred eggs are basically eggs baked in the oven so the white of the egg gets firm, but the yolk is still runny. The name Shirred comes from the dish the eggs are cooked in. Added to the dish are typically veggies, cream and cheese making for a decadent breakfast dish.

So back to this restaurant, I was there back in August with my boyfriend visiting his dad and close friends. On our last morning in Corvallis, our friends took us to this local breakfast gem. Both of our friends recommended the Shirred Eggs so I went with that.

photo-36

Cooked in the ramekin along with the eggs was spinach, broccoli, green onions, cream and white cheddar cheese. The eggs were served with a side of potatoes and toast. Oh my goodness…I LOVED this dish!! The texture of the egg is similar to an over-medium cooked egg, but better because of the cream and cheese gives it such a rich flavor. In each bite you got tastes of creamy eggs, white cheddar cheese, and fresh vegetables.

Fast forward 5 months and I was still thinking about these eggs. I knew I wanted to recreate it and finally got around to it this morning! I actually put my own spin on this dish, but I think it made it even better (not to toot my own horn ;)). I added hash browns and subbed half & half instead of cream to make it a little lighter (and if you are a bacon lover, that too).

Shirred Eggs with Hash Browns and White Cheddar Cheese

087

Ingredients:

1 teaspoon butter

1 Russet Potato, peeled and grated

8 large eggs

4 Strips of Bacon (cooked and crumbled) – optional

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

8 tablespoons half & half

8 tablespoons grated white cheddar cheese

2 teaspoons chopped fresh basil (I used 1 t dry)

Instructions:

Heat a large skillet with 1 Tablespoon of olive oil (canola will work just as well). Once the pan is hot, add the shredded potatoes to the pan (make sure you dot the potatoes with a paper towel to get out as much moisture as you can). Season with salt and pepper and allow them cook untouched until they are the desired crispiness (about 5 minutes). Flip the potatoes and cook another few minutes until they are golden brown on that side. Set hash browns aside on a plate.

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

Butter 4 (6-ounce) ramekins with the butter and take the hash browns and make a layer in each ramekin. At this point, you can add the crumbled bacon. We didn’t do this in our recipe, but my boyfriend added bacon after, and he highly recommends it! Following the bacon (or hash browns), crack 2 eggs into 2 separate small cups and pour simultaneously into 1 of the ramekins so that the eggs sit side by side on top of the hash browns. Season lightly with salt and pepper. Repeat with remaining eggs. Place the 4 filled ramekins onto a baking sheet and transfer to the oven. Bake until eggs are just beginning to set up and become opaque, 9 to 10 minutes.

Remove from the oven and pour 2 tablespoons of the half & half in each ramekin and then sprinkle 2 tablespoons of the cheese over the top of each. Sprinkle the basil over the ramekins and then return to the oven. Cook until eggs are just set up but yolks are still runny, 10 to 12 minutes more. Remove from the oven and serve immediately.

This dish may seem intimidating with all of the ingredients,but I found it to be very easy. The only problem I had was one of the yolks broke when I was pouring it from the dish to the ramekin. I just spooned it out and added another egg.

I highly recommend this recipe for entertaining as it’s decadent, but doesn’t take too long to throw together. Plus it’s a great way to use those ramekins you probably don’t use very often.

I hope you like this as much as we did!

 

Leave a Reply

