Power Breakfast Bagel

March 5, 2013

Hey folks!

I have a new recipe to share with you all, but first a little catch up on life. I’m still cooking a lot, I have just not been as diligent as I would like with taking photos. So although I have made some tasty dinners, I don’t have any fancy pictures to share with you. I’m sorry!!! This will change once I get a big girl camera! πŸ˜‰ I’ve also been busy with the my real life job and then attempting to break a sweat a few times a week after work. I’m very much looking forward to ‘springing forward’ this weekend and getting an extra hour of daylight in the evenings! Hopefully this will lead to great things in the kitchen.

Sooo back to the new recipe….it’s geared towards breakfast! Probably a weekend breakfast because if you are anything like me, you don’t leave time during the week to cook breakfast. But Saturday and Sunday is a different story! Eggs are frying, bacon is sizzling, and coffee is brewing at the nice hour of 9 or 10am! Ahhh weekends! πŸ™‚

This breakfast is actually my boyfriend’s creation. I’m not sure where the inspiration was drawn from, but this is a frequent request of his. All you need is a bagel, eggs, cream cheese and another cheese of your choice. It’s a guarantee you will feel happy and satisfied after enjoying this breakfast!

Power Breakfast Bagel

photo-42

(servings = 1 mouth)

Ingredients:

1 Bagel (flavor of your choice, we use everything or whole wheat), sliced in half

2 Eggs

2 T. Cream Cheese (we use light whipped)

2 Slices of Cheese (we use Cheddar or Gouda)

1 t. butter

Directions:

Turn oven or toaster oven on broil. Place bagel in the oven to toast. Meanwhile, heat a frying pan over medium heat. Once heated, melt the butter in the pan. Crack one egg into a small bowl. Carefully pour egg into the pan. Repeat with the second egg. Place a lid over the pan and allow eggs to cook for a few minutes. Remove the lid once the eggs are set and no longer runny. Season with salt and pepper. Carefully flip each egg with a spatula to avoid breaking the yolk. Allow to cook on the other side for a minute. Keep an eye on your bagel…it should be toasted now. Throw a slice of cheese on each half of the bagel and return to oven. Once the cheese is melted (30 seconds or so), remove the bagel from the oven and spread a tablespoon of cream cheese on each half. Then top with an egg on each bagel slice. Serve with a fork or sandwich the bagel together if you are on the go (careful of dripping yolk though)!

Give this a try this weekend! πŸ™‚

One Response to “Power Breakfast Bagel”

  1. nm7196 Says:

    The inspiration came from needed enough energy for my soccer games or sports in general. I was always feeling hungry if I didn’t eat this power breakfast bagel.


Leave a Reply

