A Trader Joe’s 3 Ingredient Dinner – Cheesy Garlic & Herb Brussels Sprouts with Sausage

March 19, 2013

I have discovered a fantastic dinner (or lunch for that matter) that requires only 3 ingredients. It’s cheap, healthy and I guarantee you won’t leave a bite left in your bowl! Have I sold you yet?! 😉

The discovery was made on this blog, although I wish I thought of it on my own! Gamnit! I wrote Trader Joe’s in the title because they conveniently carry all 3 items and who doesn’t love Trader Joe’s?!

So, here we go…..this meal takes only 15 minutes to prepare. I would recommend making this on a night when you don’t feel like cooking, but you know you can (you know what I’m talking about….don’t get take out!). Typically I don’t cook for just myself (I live with three guys), but this would be something I would have no problem making. I whipped this up last night and then again tonight….haha, seriously! And you can serve it in a bowl too….yum!!

Cheesy Garlic & Herb Brussels Sprouts with Sausage

photo-46

Recipe can also be found here but I modified slightly.

Ingredients (serves 2)

2.5 (approx 8 oz) of sliced Spicy Italian Chicken Sausage Links (I used Trader Joe’s brand as mentioned above)

10 0z of Shaved Brussels Sprouts (Bagged at Trader Joe’s)

5 wedges of Garlic & Herb Laughing Cow Cheese

Instructions:

Heat a large skillet and cook sausage for 3 minutes. Add the Brussels sprouts (aka baby cabbages, my favorite green veggie) and some olive oil  (about a tbsp) and season lightly with salt and pepper. Cook for about 7 minutes until the Brussels sprouts start to brown on the edges, stirring often. Meanwhile, unwrap your cheese wedges and place them in a large bowl. After your sausage and Brussels sprouts are done cooking, add them to the bowl to melt the cheese and stir. And that’s it! Super simple! The cheese melts and coats the Brussels sprouts and sausage. The spicy sausage gives each bite a nice kick. If you don’t like spicy, try garlic & herb or sweet apple variety.

Please, please let me know if you make this!

I will be back tomorrow with a recipe for gluten free chocolate chip cookies.

photo-47

I’m on a roll this week! 🙂

Good night all!

5 Responses to “A Trader Joe’s 3 Ingredient Dinner – Cheesy Garlic & Herb Brussels Sprouts with Sausage”

  1. cyril Says:

    Hello Jayme & Shannon have a great blog here…good food stuff.
    Thanks cyril

  2. nm7196 Says:

    This is so good! The flavor of sausage makes the dish…or bowl in this case. 🙂

  3. BJM Says:

    Hi Ladies,

    This was really good! I am not as big of a Brussel sprouts fan as you but all the ingredients came together perfectly. Very easy and quick – terrific recipe. Thank you


Leave a Reply

